Recent Calls
Thu. Sep 3rd 2020
At 15:59 hours, the WRFD was dispatched to 14 Lincoln Ave for a report of smoke in the basement. A small fire on the exterior of the home that was extending inside was quickly extinguished by Engine 9...
Sun. Aug 16th 2020
At 02:30 hours, the WRFD was dispatched to the area of 346 Wood-Ridge Ave for a reported fire. Chief Cribben arrived on scene and observed smoke and fire coming from the home at 347 Wood-Ridge Ave. Wo...
Fri. Aug 14th 2020
At 08:33 hours, Moonachie Fire Command requested a ladder truck to respond to 100 Carol Place, Moonachie for a fire in the building. T904 responded and firefighters were sent to the roof to check for...
Fri. Aug 14th 2020
At 03:30 hours, the WRFD was dispatched to 245 Valley Blvd., Apartment 2C for a activated carbon monoxide detector. FFs recorded 54ppm of CO on the meters and determined the source of the CO to be sm...
Thu. Aug 13th 2020
At 23:08 hours, the WRFD was dispatched to 300 Avalon Drive, Unit 3162 for a activated carbon monoxide detector. FFs recorded 34ppm of CO on the meters and determined the source of the CO to be smold...
News Headlines
Mon. Oct 5th 2020
At the October meeting, Chief Cribben appointed Jack Gaige and Michael Hanna as Junior Firefighters and assigned them badge numbers 105 and 103 respectively. Good luck Jack and Michael!
Tue. Sep 8th 2020
At the September meeting Chief Cribben appointed John Hone to a one year probationary firefighter period and assigned him badge #27. John moved up from our Junior Firefighter program. Also, Thomas F...
Sun. Aug 16th 2020
Following an early morning house fire at 347 Wood Ridge Ave., members trained on our newly acquired Personal Safety Systems. The borough recently purchased one for each interior firefighter. These sys...
Mon. Jul 20th 2020
At the July meeting, Chief Cribben appointed Cassandra Ferry to a one year probationary firefighter period and assigned her badge #11. Cassandra moved up from the Junior Firefighter program. Chief C...
Fri. Jul 10th 2020
The annual Wood-Ridge Fire Department Exempt Association Memorial Service was held on May 20, 2020. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, the service was closed to the public and all members maintained soci...
WRFD Exempt Association
On June 25, 1909 a preliminary meeting of the Exempt Firemen was held at the firehouse and was attended by Franz Fritsch, Emil Piravano, Jacob Bloom, William White and John Kiefer. Franz Fritsch was elected chairman, pro tem and William White secretary, pro tem. Emil Pirivano was appointed a committee of one to contact the exempt firemen. 
On August 25, 1909 the following attended: Franz Fritsch, Alfred Gramlich, William White, William Jantzen, C. Fred Shotwell, Jacob Bloom, John Kiefer and Emil Pirivano. It was at this meeting that the Exempt Firemen’s Association was organized and the following officers were elected: President-Treasurer Franz Fritsch. Alfred Gramlich, George Young, and C. Fred Shotwell were appointed trustees.
What is an exempt firefighter?  He / she is a firefighter who joins a municipal fire department and attends 50% of fires and drills for seven years.  Some benefits of being an exempt firefighter include a death benefit, exemption from jury duty (not automatic), a free hawkers license and tenure in office.
A local exempt firefighter's association provides veteran firefighters with the opportunity to share experinces, associate with their peers and maintain interest in the fire department.  They can concentrate on activities other than fire suppression if they wish.  A local association elects three representatives to the local relief association, which in turn strengthens the relief association.
The current officers of the WRFD Exempt Association are:
President - Thomas Bischoff, Jr.
Vice-President - Stephen Sarracino
Secretary - Edward Pfeifer
Treasurer - Gregory Gorab
NJ State Exempt Firemen's Association website:
 Paul AltschulerAllen Anderson
Harry BakerJames BartlettThomas Bischoff, Jr.*
Brain BollardGeorge BolschThomas Burniston*
Damian CaucegliaLucian CaucegliaJohn Cherichella
Paul ClementeRobert ConcatoJeffrey Cosgrove
Robert Cribben*Michael Cribben*Robert Eschert
Fred EspositoBrian FerryThomas Ferry
Elizabeth Ferry*James FerryAnthony Gentile
Robert GibneyGregory Gorab* 
John HeflichRobert JonesSteven Kessler
Dennis Kronyak, Jr.*Robert LivolsiNicolas Lopez
James LynchRobert MacDonaldPeter Mari
Darin OddoWilliam OddoEdward Pfeifer
Eric PettersenNorman PettersenRudolph Pettineo
Ronald Phillips, Sr.*Ronald Phillips, Jr.*Stephen Sarracino*
Thomas Sarracino*Kenneth Schulz*Richard Schulz
Corey ShermanScott ShermanEdward Sullivan
T.A. Sullivan*Eugene Tatur 
William TyrellRobert Van HornMatthew Wood
Kevin Cribben*Gilbert Ruiz* 
* denotes active member  


The following names have been placed on the WRFD Exempt Association Memorial Bell in honor of the firefighter's service and dedication to the Borough of Wood-Ridge.  All exempt firefighters and active members who have passed are listed on the bell.

Walter AdamsJohn AdelungCharles Aimone
Philip AlgozziniFred Barbaretti, Jr.Joseph Beck
Thomas BellCharles BertiniJacob Bloom
Christian BohlmanRobert BrehmEmile Bugnon
Charles BunzCiro CalderoneFrank Castagnetta
Joseph CastiglioneThomas CoffinReno Concato
James Conroy, Jr.William CubbonsThomas Daly
John DistelCharles DixonEmil Dross
Paul EdmunsonAl EggenbergerKenneth Ellison
Albert EricksonLouis EuverardHarold Fink
George FlavalWilliam FowlerGeorge Freschi
Franz FritschEdmund GorabHerbert Gorab
Alfred GramlichLawrence GrecoCornelius Gwinn
Edward HagovskyMichael HahnGeorge Hicke
Charles HirstGeorge Hoecker, Sr.William Hoehl
Hermann HofenerJohn HuberWilliam Jantzen
Julis KemofnerMalachi KennyArthur Kerr
Herbert KerrJames KerrJohn Kiefer
Ewald KleinRichard KleinFred Kobertz
William KoegelWilliam KourWilliam Kour, Jr.
Robert KuhlJoseph LabravicoFrank Lehman
Albert Loesch, Sr.Robert LuinettiTom MacDonald
James MacDonnellDavis Manser, Sr.William Meade
Andrew MyersEdward Myers, Sr.Edward Myers, Jr.
Albert MillsAlfred MolitorissJohn Molitoriss
Fred NortonLouis ObermeyerS. William Ostahagen
Melvin PalmesinoAlphonse ParlatoCarl Pelz
George PetersenEmil PiorvanoElias Popejoy
Leo PurcaroRafael RacouzzoFrank Ranuska
Charles RathwellJohn RodgersFred Roes
Ernest RohlfsCharles RueggerJacob Ruhle
Charles RumsbyRichard SaquiGeorge Sheetz
Charles SchmidtJohn ScottSydney Scruton
George SesselmanC. Fred ShotwellConran Staahl
John StaubachAugust StoefflerMorris Story
Henry Strunk, Sr.Henry Strunk, Jr.Charles Suenholz
Gustave SuenholzHarry TeytaudWalter VanGarlen
August VanGlahnWilliam VanGlahn, Jr.William Wahl
William WhiteEugene WinberryGeorge Young, Sr.
Vincent O'BeirneVincent PascaleRae Rice
Charles NapolitanoPaul EdmondsonThomas Skip Bischoff
Ellsworth KlotzbierRobert PierceDavid Edelman
Bernard DrakeRobert AllmanRobert Gross




© 2020 Wood-Ridge Fire Department